New IT Endeavors

Well I took my online interview with Support Space.  I think that I need to work on my phone speaking skills a bit, but I am mostly looking for just chatting online to help with computer issues. I did use “Go to Meeting” for the first time and it was interesting in how it’s setup and running on my computer. Even though it uses Citrix (one of my nemesis from school) but this version works a lot better and not hanging now and then. I even got to learn about using the remote access. Which through Support Space works rather well. I’m impressed. So I am looking forward to working for them as a contractor and helping others. I am looking for the experience and also to provide some help as well. Not to mention I can also make a little bit of extra money as well. Now I just have to wait for an approval for the university through Support Space in order to get certified with a few of the partner or eStores affiliated with Support Space. Once that goes through I can start working and helping others. My interviewer did mention that once we get certified with one partner we can expect to be working a lot in the first few weeks. Which would be nice and I would be able to make quite a bit of cash, but I still have to take out my taxes as well. 1099’s or not, I can handle that. I am just excited for this to happen and also for me to gain a bit of experience as well.

Another thing I did today was also applied for a paid internship through Lan/Wan certification for Cisco. Which I am looking forward to this as well. I would like to be able to do this and also gain valuable experience and certifications for Cisco products and services. I was going to be taking a few of these certifications anyways, but this would enable for me to pick up several of them while possibly getting paid and use these certifications for an employer. Then once I was done with my classes or training then I could then potentially make a lot better money. I wouldn’t have to worry about not being able to pay the bills! Not to mention I would also be able to use my skills from my Associates to work and some of my Bachelors to help with other issues that may be related to my certifications.

I am just getting tired of working for the largest cable company and not getting a chance to move up. Even a few other veteran techs are getting fed up. It’s harder to work when you have so much hanging over your head, and so many things to do while you’re in a home. It’s time for a change when it gets to that point. I love the benefits, but ever since a big merger, a lot of the perks have gone away and some of the senior staff has either been fired or moved somewhere else. Not a good morale booster! I on the other hand am glad for being in school and having at least the opportunity to do some tech support. I have other ways to get out and still have a job, but it would have to be with a staffing company instead. We shall see how it goes.

About CJaynes

Working as a call center rep, who loves to go hiking, cooking,and brewing beer among other things on my off days with my wife.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

