Red Sun development update…..

I lately have been working on my portfolio for a web developer position within a temp agency. So far it has been a hard road in getting it going and done. I also have been trying to work for free in gaining a bit of experience in developing web pages.

I recently have been using Twitter and even GetGlue to get a bit of help from other freelancing developers in gaining some tips, help, and other insights to how to build and do freelance work. It has paid off a bit so far. I have recently have gotten a few more contacts going through the same thing as me. I will say freelancing is hard work, but it can be rewarding. While I am actually working a full-time job and going to school doing something other than web development, I am still active in getting my web site completed. I have solicit help from CoffeeCup software and using their S-Drive service to host a free blog/page to learn a bit more about HTML5. This will help me in learning about the new HTML format and even give me a chance to eventually move this WordPress blog over to the WordPress.org site. Once my home server is up and running, one for the house and another for work purposes.

I will recommend that if you are a budding developer, do some work for free to gain experience, have a plan laid out with milestones. This will help in meeting deadlines in the future for paid work.

One thing I have learned about developing pages, is to keep in touch with your client about what they want for a page and to show them what you may have as well. If it helps write it down and you can even use an interview format in order to accomplish that. This will help in keeping a good line of communication with the client. This also helps in keeping tabs on what the client wants and if there may be any changes during the development process.

Having learned from a few mistakes along the way, I can pass them along to others so to not make the same mistakes or at least be able to learn from it. By no means is it a bad thing, but something you have to deal with, since a lot of the time you will be developing with a tight deadline.

In summary, don’t be afraid to ask plenty of questions, and to talk with the client about what you are planning. Keeping a constant communication throughout the process helps in completing the project faster and you can get paid sooner rather than later!

About CJaynes

Working as a call center rep, who loves to go hiking, cooking,and brewing beer among other things on my off days with my wife.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

